nprmommy's Diaryland Diary

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

Germs R Us


Back at work for the first time in almost a week. Good God, it's hard to get up at 3am. It's nice to leave the germ-infested mess that is my house, though. As is usually the case, as soon as I recovered from being sick, Zoe woke up Saturday morning with goopy pink eye. Poor thing missed her t-ball game, her last soccer game of the season, and her soccer party. Sad girl. I'm hoping she will wake up feeling well enough to go to school today. Just three days left! We could really use the down time right now. But I'm sure in about three weeks I'll be tearing my hair out trying to keep them entertained for the remainder of the summer.

Our neighborhood held the annual garage sale on Saturday. Against my better judgement, I gave the kids a dollar each to spend and sent them on their way with the teenage babysitter to cruise the sales. They had strict instructions not to buy any stuffed animals. Something about used stuffed animals creeps me out. I mean, you can scrub and bleach a plastic toy (not that I'm germ-phobic or anything), but a stuffed toy just seems dirty to me. They still managed to come back with two videos, two trivets with some type of cartoon pictures on them, and one computer game. And they still had 75 cents left! Each! Now that's some bargain shopping. Zoe was very excited because she saw her kindergarten teacher at one of the sales. She said "Mommy, I looked up and saw some striped pants. I thought to myself "I know those pants!"

The husband was on a major cleaning/organizing tear this weekend. He "helped" with the laundry. Which consists of him separating the clothes into piles, putting the first load in, and then saying "Did you check the laundry?" periodically throughout the rest of the day. Oh, wait, that's not fair. He did take two loads out of the dryer....which he proceeded to dump in a big pile on the bed and not fold. Actually, one of the loads was too damp to fold, and had to be put back in the dryer.

He also took all of the toys out from under the "fort" in the backyard, cleaned them, vacuumed under the fort (where he put artificial turf two summers ago), then put the toys back in an organized fashion. He will expect them to stay clean and organized for the rest of the summer, and will be shocked when he returns home this afternoon to find them already dirty and unorganized...the horror!

I'm headed to the kid's school for most of the afternoon. The principal is grilling hotdogs for lunch today. Families bring picnic blankets and sit out on the school lawn to eat. Then Max has his end-of-the-year party in his first grade class. The room mother bought a wooden captain's chair, stained it, painted the teacher's name on it, and had the kids sign their names. It came out really cool looking.

Of course if Zoe still has goopy eyes, all those plans are shot to hell.......

6:16 a.m. - 2006-05-22
1 comments

previous - next

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

Max's Pants - 2007-06-20
Another DotMoms Article - 2007-03-12
New Dot-Moms Post - 2007-02-01
The President "Sings" - 2006-07-26
Summer Reality - 2006-07-25

latest entry

about me

archives

notes

DiaryLand

contact

random entry

other diaries:

theflyingrat
dangerspouse
tuff517
simply-a-mom
mom-on-roof
mommylap
smedindy