nprmommy's Diaryland Diary

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

Book Club Rebel


The husband finally gave in and turned on the A/C!!! Good thing, too, because we're on Day 3 of 90 degree weather, with at least one more day to go. Sweet sweet artificially cooled air!

I'm trying to finish my book club book by our meeting tomorrow night. I joined the book club (against my better judgement) in January, and have yet to finish one book club selection. I have always loved to read, but something about being told to read a book by a certain date and be prepared to discuss it brings out the rebel-without-a-cause side of me. Kind of doesn't make me good book club material--which I told the Head Book Clubber, but she talked me into joining anyway. So I'm determined to finish this one. But I'm only 90 pages into a 483 page book, so things aren't looking too good.

We're reading Angry Houswives Eating Bon Bons. It's really enjoyable. The group of friends in the book reminds me of my Mom's Night Out group. Three of my friends and I started going out to dinner once a month about 5 years ago. I think we've only missed 2 MNO's that whole time. We've been through a lot together. Miscarriage, postpartum depression (severe enough to require hospitalization), idiot husbands, and even a baby who was born with a severe heart defect and died at 14 months old just weeks after a heart transplant. I seriously don't know how I would have made it through some of the tough times without them. We can also get together and spend four hours laughing so hard that my sides ache when we're done.

Crying, laughing, and eating chocolate desserts---what more do you need in life?

11:14 a.m. - 2006-05-29
2 comments

previous - next

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

Max's Pants - 2007-06-20
Another DotMoms Article - 2007-03-12
New Dot-Moms Post - 2007-02-01
The President "Sings" - 2006-07-26
Summer Reality - 2006-07-25

latest entry

about me

archives

notes

DiaryLand

contact

random entry

other diaries:

theflyingrat
dangerspouse
tuff517
simply-a-mom
mom-on-roof
mommylap
smedindy