nprmommy's Diaryland Diary

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

Flicks and Fears


There are a lot of "kids" movies that I love to watch. Charlie and the Chocolate Factory (the original, of course) A Christmas Story (I love when they do the marathon!), Home Alone (mostly because it makes me think of my nephew, who is now 21. I must have watched it with him 3 dozen times when he was little), and Mr. Mom just to name a few. (I'm not sure Mr. Mom actually qualifies as a kid movie. I just remember watching it a lot when I was a kid.)

Last night, Max and I watched one of my all-time favorites, The Sandlot. First of all, I love (love love love!) baseball. Second, the movie has a cast of the cutest little boys ever. I don't know if any of them are still working actors, but they sure were adorable in that movie. And it's just fun when your kid loves something that you love. So we watched the movie, ate popcorn, cuddled on the couch, and had an all-around good time.

There was a pretty severe thunderstorm here yesterday. Max is freaked out by storms. We were at a birthday party in the park when the sky turned dark and the wind kicked up. Max just kept bursting into tears every two minutes, so after about 10 minutes I took him home. Who wants a crying kid at their 7th birthday party? On the drive home, it started to rain hard. Then, right after we pulled into the garage, the tornado siren sounded. We have a siren right in our neighborhood, so it's pretty loud. Max freaked. I called our neighbor to say we were coming over to hang out in their basement. Max freaked. I opened the garage door and told the kids to run across the yard to the neighbor's house. Max saw the storm, screamed, and ran back into the house. So I yelled "Get out here now!" and he proceeded to run across the yard screaming "It's a tornado! It's a tornado!"

Max is not good in an emergency.

So last night we had a long talk about how Mommy and Daddy would never put him in a dangerous situation, and he has to trust us when we say it's safe, and he has to at least chill out a little because when he freaks out, it freaks other people out. One little boy at the birthday party started crying when Max freaked, and Zoe was beside herself by the time we got to the neighbor's basement. There was a bit of thunder when he went to bed, and I held my breath expecting him to start crying. But I think he was so worn out from the tornado siren incident that he just passed out.

How do you talk a kid out of a fear?

6:41 a.m. - 2006-05-26
0 comments

previous - next

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

Max's Pants - 2007-06-20
Another DotMoms Article - 2007-03-12
New Dot-Moms Post - 2007-02-01
The President "Sings" - 2006-07-26
Summer Reality - 2006-07-25

latest entry

about me

archives

notes

DiaryLand

contact

random entry

other diaries:

theflyingrat
dangerspouse
tuff517
simply-a-mom
mom-on-roof
mommylap
smedindy