nprmommy's Diaryland Diary

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

Playplace Hell

I'm not a big fan of the restaurant playplaces. Lots of noisy, germy kids, sticky tables and chairs, and parents who are paying no attention to the chaos their children are causing.

I think I've been to the top of every playplace in my town. Not because I enjoyed it or because someone dared me to do it. Max was the child who eagerly climbed to the top of the playplace and immediately started screaming because he couldn't figure out how to get down. No amount of coaxing, pleading, or threatening could get him to take the slide down. Eventually, I would remove my shoes and climb to the top, grab my screaming child, and wedge us both into the slide for the trip down.

Several parents of Zoe's kindergarten classmates got into the habit of going to McDonalds for lunch once a week after school. Despite my intention of avoiding these outings, somehow word would spread through the kindergarten grapevine in the morning, and Zoe would get in the car at pick-up and announce "Did you know we were going to McDonalds today?" If you knew Zoe, you would understand how 9 times out of 10 (o.k., 10 times out of 10) the car seemed to magically follow her classmates, despite my best intentions.

Thereafter followed an hour or so of running, screaming, sweaty kids, who swore they were having fun, but just seemed red-faced, whiny, and unusually aggressive. I would leave each week swearing that I was NOT going to go back the next time.....only to find the car magically driving there again the following Tuesday.

Then one week we arrived at McDonald's to find that every table was taken. We had to eat in shifts, on top of enduring the screaming, whining, sweaty mob of children. I thought "Do any of us really enjoy coming here? Because I have a headache every week when we leave." I'd rather be having a root canal without novacaine than spend another lunch at the dreaded playplace.

We should go out for coffee once a week.... while the kids are in school.

2:48 p.m. - 2006-03-29
0 comments

previous - next

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

Max's Pants - 2007-06-20
Another DotMoms Article - 2007-03-12
New Dot-Moms Post - 2007-02-01
The President "Sings" - 2006-07-26
Summer Reality - 2006-07-25

latest entry

about me

archives

notes

DiaryLand

contact

random entry

other diaries:

theflyingrat
dangerspouse
tuff517
simply-a-mom
mom-on-roof
mommylap
smedindy